You can get your beverage container recycling refunds on a per-container basis instead of by weight.

By law, you can bring up to 50 aluminum, 50 glass, 50 plastic, and 50 bi-metal California Redemption Value (CRV) containers in a single visit and request to be paid by count. You will be paid the full CRV redemption of 5 cents or 10 cents on each container. Inform the site attendant of your load content and how you would like to receive payment before you hand over your load.
Any consumer who has been denied this right by a recycling center can file a complaint via email or by calling 1-800-RECYCLE.
If recycling more than 50 containers of any one material type, the decision to pay by count or weight is determined by the recycling center operator. Make sure your containers are whole and free of contaminants such as dirt, excessive liquid or other foreign substances. If you are being paid by weight, make sure the load contains only eligible CRV beverage containers.
Daily load limits of empty CRV beverage containers are 100 pounds each for aluminum and plastic, and 1,000 pounds for glass. If the load includes containers not eligible for CRV, the recycling center must either reject the load or pay only scrap value.

*BY LAW, IF CRV MATERIALS EXCEED $100 WE HAVE TO ISSUE A CHECK.

The New Reporting Requirements for Copper,Copper Alloys, Aluminum, and Stainless Steel
(Nonferrous material) effective December 1, 2008:


Mandatory 3 days Hold.

The State of California requires all recyclers to place a 3 days hold on all non-ferrous materials, non-ferrous metals are not attracted to magnets nor do they rust such as copper, alloys, stainless steel, and aluminum (excluding CRV materials). Businesses and contractors may avoid this hold by providing their valid business license, contractor’s license, or sellers permit.  Employees or drivers of companies on file should provide a letterhead authorizing payment in cash at the time of delivery.  Frequent customers with five or more times consecutively in a three month period may also avoid this hold.  Also, transactions resulting in a paymentless than $20.00, may be exempt from the hold.

Non-Ferrous Materials:

Aluminum-Extrusion, dirty extrusion, EC wire, aluminum rims, cast aluminum, mixed clips, sheet aluminum, aluminum boring, insulated EC wire
Copper-Bright & Shining wire, burnt wire, pipe, tube, insulated wire
Brass-yellow brass, red brass
Radiators-auto radiators, AL-CU radiators, dirty radiators
Others-Stainless steel, dirty stainless steel, die cast, 5% cast aluminum, irony aluminum, litho, lead
In compliance with CA state law SB691, all non-ferrous materials require:

Valid CA driver’s license, valid CA ID card by DMV, or valid federal government-issued ID card containing a photograph & address.
A photograph of the seller with his/her materials an a thumb print must be obtained.
Seller must sign a statement of ownership.
Payment is by cash after 3 days.  For Frequent customers (5 or more transactions on 5 or more different days per month), payment is by cash at the time of sales.
Photos & records of sales will be submitted to law enforcement agency for periodic review.